Connect with us


Amvca 2023: A night of fashion and awards for newbies



Amvca 2023: A night of fashion and awards for newbies

Let’s Gist about the AMVCA 2023….

For those of you who do not know what  AMVCA is, it is Africa Magic Viewers choice award and it is held annually in Lagos, Nigeria. This year was the 9th edition and it brought together creatives from different part of Nigeria and Africa.

The award

Before we Gist about the award let’s check out the winners of AMVCA 2023

Full list of Winners;

Best Sound editor in a movie or TV series

Anu Afolayan – Anikulapo


Best picture editor in a movie or TV series


Winner: (Crime and Justice) Holmes Awa and 3rd Vision Films


Best lighting designer award in a movie and TV series 

Winner: Matthew Yusuf 


Best Art Director movie or TV series 

Winner: Wale Adeleke – King of Thieves


Best Cinematographer 


Winner: Loukman Ali


Best Writer in a movie or TV series 

Sola Dada – Anikulapo]! 


Best Costume Designer movie or TV series 

Winner:Denola Art Alade, Real house wives of Lagos


Best Makeup Artist, Movie or TV series


Maryam Ndukwe & Hakeem Effects Onilogbo – Shanty Town


Best soundtrack in a movie or TV series 

Winner Kent Edujonbi – Anikulapo 


Best Indigenous language movie or TV series swahili 

Click click bang bang – Philip Karanja Njenga]! 


Best Indigenous language movie or TV series Hausa


Abubakar Bashir Maishadda – Aisha


Best Indigenous language movie or TV series Yoruba



Best Indigenous language movie or TV series Igbo 

Victor Ike


Best short film


PA Aromire


Best Online Social Content Creator 

Elozonam and Kie Kie


Best TV series

Crime and Justice Lagos – Yinka Edward 


Best Documentary 


The Debut – Nora Awolowo 


Best Movie East Africa

Click click bang 


Best Movie West Africa 



Best Movie South Africa




Best supporting actress movie or TV series 

Efe Irele 


Best Supporting Actor in a movie 

Abdisattar Ahmed


Best Actress in a comedy or movie or TV series 


Bimbo Ademoye 


Best Actor in a comedy or movie or TV series 

Broda shaggi


Best Actress in a Drama or TV series

Osas ighodaro  


Best Actor in Drama Series


Tobi bakre 


Multi choice talent factory 



Best Original Drama Series



Best original comedy series


JoroNjoro Wa Uba 


Best Original Telenovela



Best unscripted original 

King bugar


2023 Industry merit award 


Patience Ozokwor





Best dressed 

Eni Oluwa


Best dressed female 


Beauty Tukura


Best Director Movie

Loukman Ali


Best Overall Movie 


The Black carpet and fashion 

Media Personalities Vj adams, Sika Osei, Toke Makinwa and Uti Nwachukwu hosted the Black Carpet. This year the fashion representation at the AMVCA was on another level, everybody stepped out in their best. It was difficult to decide who came in looking outstanding because almost everyone put in a lot into their looks. To get more updates about the fashion and style at the AMVCA follow this page


Meanwhile check out the best dressed and comment on the link if they truly deserved it.

The show
The show was hosted by Media Personality Ik Osakioduwa and Miss Universe 2019 Zozibini Tunzi. They were a perfect match, IK brought in a lot of humor while Zozibini brought in eloquence and class. Highlight of the night was when they performed a song together.
There were performances by Iyanya and Tiwa Savage who brought in Spyro and other artist. The cultural performance at the beginning of the show was unique. Outstanding moment was the newbies in thr industry like Tobi Bakre and others that went home with an award.
In summary AMVCA 2023 was cool and we believe they would do better next year….. Big Congratulations to all the winners!!!!
Don’t miss out on the fashion reviews on our YouTube Channel presented by Fashion Processes…
Link up with our socials below;
Facebook: Gist Always
Instagram: Gistalways
Twitter: Gistalways
LinkedIn: Gistalways
Tiktok: Gistalways
Youtube: Gist Always
Snapchat: Gistalways





Continue Reading
Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *